Annual Academic Banquet Honors Students and Teachers

June 1, 2023 - Comal ISD hosted the 22nd Annual Jan Heckendorn Academic Recognition Banquet on May 11, honoring this year’s to graduating seniors along with an honored teacher selected by each student.

In addition to honoring these students and teachers, the Jan Heckendorn Scholarship is presented during the event. This year, the scholarship committee chose to award three students with the Jan Heckendorn Scholarship. They included Katelyn Davis from Canyon High School, Abigail Permenter from Smithson Valley High School and Ray Allen Schaefer from CHS. Each received $2,500.

Students enrolled in floral design classes at Canyon Lake High School, taught by Alyssa Peterson, provided the floral arrangements; and an orchestra ensemble from CHS under the direction of Manual Arambula, provided welcome music.

The 2023 Academic Banquet honorees are as follows by campus.

Canyon High School Top 15 Graduates and Honored Teachers

  • Danny Aceves Iniguez and Elizabeth Polk
  • Tyler Anderson and Haylie Sansom
  • Presley Batkins and Erin Kinkade-Dyal
  • Jamie Lenee DeWitt and Michelle Koehl
  • Keenan Frazier and Fredy R. Solis
  • Luke Gately and Amanda Schumann
  • Evan Gruhlkey and Jamey Leeber
  • Alex Hnatow and Gary Anderson
  • MacKenzie Ivy and Brad Arnold
  • Gisselle Jimenez and Denise Villarreal
  • John Kelemen and Robert Harms Jr.
  • Camille Lind and Rob Gusick
  • Gavin Peters and Cameron Hall
  • Sarina Maya Schwarze and Vaughn Violet Chestnutt
  • Ashley Whitfield and Sharon Streger

Canyon Lake High School Top 15 Graduates and Honored Teachers

  • Isis Almanza and Sarah Reyeros
  • Chase Anderson and Amy Thorpe
  • Hunter Anderson and Kimberly Gaines
  • Tyler Barberio and Morgan Webel
  • Cole Cason and Kelly Gallaher
  • Keely Dinscore and Ben Matthews
  • Zachary Ellis and Ben Ceyanes
  • Lyndon Fischer and Charles Van Houten
  • Madison Hartman and Beverly Sharp
  • Burke Jones and Kari Bennett
  • Micah Lee and Kristen Akers
  • ReAnn Luehlfing and Tina Platt
  • Kenzi Malish and Sami Theurer
  • Justin McGee and Brent Ferguson
  • Ian Morris and Mary Beth Gallagher 

Davenport High School Top 15 Graduates and Honored Teachers

  • Noah Bliss and Jeffrey Keyes
  • Davis Brimager and Cody Poerner
  • Alayna Castro and Geoffrey Edwards
  • Lindsay Creel and Moni Arnold
  • Delany Dalton and Christianna Galen
  • Judge Erickson and Leslie Uptain
  • Lily Harris and Taylour Toso
  • Brooke Lear and Wendy Nosal
  • Daley Lemmons and Troy Varvel
  • Brisa Pena and Martin Acosta
  • Samantha Regan and Rachel Sherrerd
  • Virginia Simone and Joe Alford
  • Jaidyn Soverall and Bradley Washington
  • Gianna Turco and Maddisyn Farmer
  • Mason Whitman and Terrell Johnston

Memorial Early College High School Top 5 Graduates and Honored Teachers

  • Alyssa Martinez and Angie Mickey
  • Jenna Patch and Jessica McCullough
  • Hezekiah Reddell and Dan Horton
  • Priscilla Velazquez and Francine Miller-Sallese
  • Daniel Vequist and Erin Loper

Smithson Valley High School Top 15 Graduates and Honored Teachers

  • Andrew Barge and Jeff Yates
  • Kyle Barton and Wendy Clark
  • Josh Butler and Richard Helsley
  • Catherine Diel and Christina Post
  • Tatum Esp and Shayla Womble
  • Sophia Goodwin and Trenton Hall
  • Ryan Harkin and Debora Parker
  • Campbell Lueck and Shannon Cantu
  • Valerie Mendez and Jason Adkins
  • Mason Mock and Kesa Kemp
  • Arshjot Multani and Kathryn Rutledge
  • Jacob Perez and Nicole Antenen
  • Kyle R. Peter and Tye Pannkuk
  • Emma Siebold and Margaret Edmonson
  • Sarah Thomason and Caroline Osborn


Student and Teacher images by Sam Roberts Photography available for purchase.

View and download photos from the 22nd Annual Jan Heckendorn Academic Recognition Banquet.


-The 2023 Jan Heckendorn Scholarship recipients are pictured from left, Abigail Permenter, Katelyn Davis and Ray Allen Schaefer

-The 2023 Jan Heckendorn Scholarship recipients pictured with members of the Heckendorn Scholarship Committee.


Read more Comal ISD news here.